Rancho Lando – Bath Vanity and Cabinet and Renovation Nation!

by Douglas Shepherd

Lando Bath Vanity

Spring 2009

Lando House

Pat and Jody Lando, the owners of the notoriously green Rancho Lando, commissioned me to build them two custom cabinets for their master bath this month. The vanity is a 72″ long suspended two sink vanity. The linen and medicine cabinet is a 43″ high built-in sideboard. Both carcasses are made of domestic, walnut, FSC certified, non-formaldehyde plywood. The doors and drawer faces are Plyboo Neopolitan solid bamboo panels.  At some point the Lando’s will be installing a concrete counter top and dual vessel sinks.

When I went to install the cabinets I was pleasantly surprised to find a film crew setting up at the Lando’s.  It turned out that Renovation Nation, the Steve Thomas (“This Old House” alum…) hosted green home renovation show, were preparing to film an episode about Rancho Lando.   And, to my surprise, they asked if they could film my cabinet install for the episode.  So I spent the day installing cabinets with a cameraman over my shoulder, trying not to look too incompetent for the viewers at home.  It was a fun day.  I will post an update if, in fact, I make it to the “big show”! Stay tuned!